Dame Sarah Storey gained her 14th UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships title at the age of 41 in Apeldoom ©Getty Images

Great Britain’s Dame Sarah Storey has won her 14th title at the age of 41 at the International Cycling Union Para-cycling Track World Championships in Apeldoom in The Netherlands.

The Paralympic icon won the women’s C5 3 kilometre individual pursuit to gain her first track title since Rio 2016.

She had already won a silver medal at the Omnisport Apeldoorn in the C5 500 metre time trial on Thursday (March 14).

Among the cyclists Dame Sarah beat today was team-mate Crystal Lane-Wright, the reigning world champion, who finished only fourth today. 

Poland’s Anna Harkowska had to settle for the silver medal after being caught by Dame Sarah in the final, while Samantha Bosco from the United States managed to stay ahead of Lane-Wright in their race to take the bronze medal.

On an afternoon which featured four individual pursuit finals, the women’s C4 3km gold medal was won by Australia’s Emily Petricola.

She caught Canada’s Kelly Shaw to become world champion, while the Australian’s compatriot Meg Lemon won the bronze.

In another Australia versus Canada battle, she stayed ahead of Marie-Claude Molinar to take the final podium spot.

Australia also gained a gold medal from the men’s individual pursuit races, Alistair Donohoe winning the C5 4km final.

He improved on his Paralympic silver medal by catching Ukraine’s Yehor Dementyev.

The host nation gained the bronze medal as Daniel Abraham Gebru stayed ahead of Britain’s Jonathan Gildea.

Slovakia won the other of today’s individual pursuits through Jozef Metelka, who caught Britain’s George Peasgood in the final.

Colombia’s Diego German Duenas Gomez held off Romania’s 42-year-old Carol-Eduard Novak to win the bronze medal.

Those races all followed two scratch finals in the morning session, won by athletes from Canada and Spain.

The men’s C2 15km race was won by Canada's 43-year-old Tristen Chernove.

Colombia’s Alejandro Perea, winner of the gold medal in the C2 1km time trial yesterday, picked up silver today as China’s Guihua Liang seized the bronze.

The other gold, in the C1 event, was claimed by Spain’s Ricardo Ten Argiles, who beat Russia’s Ivan Ermakov and Australia’s Darcy Thompson.