South Korea won both golds on offer today to bring the IBSA World Judo Championships to an end ©IBSA

South Korea won both the women's and men's team competitions at the International Blind Sports Federation Judo World Championships in Portugal today, to finish the competition top of the medal table with five titles in all.

Having picked up two golds and two silvers yesterday at the Pavilhão Multiusos de Odivelas, the Koreans beat China in the final of the women's team event and Ukraine in the men's event.

The women's final began with a match described as "lukewarm", which saw China's Li Liqing lose by default with three shidos against Korea's under-49 kilogram world champion Soohee Choi.

The under-63kg world champion Song Lin Jin then put the Koreans 2-0 up and secured the gold, by beating Yue Wang Jin by ippon.

China did gain a consolation victory in the third match when the over-70kg world champion Hongyu Wang beat Hayeong Park via ippon.

In the bronze medal matches Azerbaijan's team of Saveda Valiyeva, Khanim and Zulfiya Huseynova whitewashed Sandrine Martinet, Manon Cellier and Prescilla Leze from France, while on the other mat Brazil’s Karla Cardoso, Lucia Araujo and Rebeca Silva beat Turkey’s Ecem Tasin, Duygu Cete Artar and Raziye Ulucam to the final podium spot.

In the men's event Ukraine had a strong team that included new under-90kg world champion Oleksandr Nazarenko, but they were still no match for South Korea, eventually falling to a 3-2 defeat.

Min Jae Lee, Seungjin Yang, under-81kg world champion Jung Min Lee and Woohyeok Song were part of the victorious side with Davyd Khorava, Dmytro Solovey, Olexandr Kosinov and Oleksandr Pominov also in the Ukraine ranks.

"The team gold means much more than an individual gold because we achieved it as a team," South Korea's Jung said.

"We will now go back and get even stronger for Tokyo 2020."

In the men's bronze medal contests Russia's Artem Merkulov, Vasilii Kutuev, Shamil Magomedov, Malik Kurbanov and Gaidar Gaidarov took victory over the United States' Ronald Hawthorne, Robert Tanaka, Adnan Gutic, Nathan Ostergaard and Robert Anderson on one mat, while on the other Azerbaijan’s team featuring four individual medallists Vugar Shirinli, Ramil Gasimov, Huseyn Rahimli, Rovshan Safarov and Ilham Zakiyev, whitewashed Spain.