The IWRF European Division B Championships were awarded to Finland for the third time ©IWRF

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) European Division B Championships are set to begin in Lahti, Finland, tomorrow.

The Finnish Sports Association of Persons with Disabilities will be organising the event which will run until October 15.

Eight teams from the European zone will be competing at the second-tier Championships.

Hosts Finland will contest the title against Austria, Belgium, Ireland, Italy, Switzerland and newly promoted Russia and The Netherlands.

The Russian and Dutch teams earned their place in Division B due to their top finishes in the 2017 European Division C Championships.

The top two teams from the 2018 European Division B Championships will be promoted to the 2019 European Division A Championships.

The bottom two teams in Finland will be relegated to Division C.

Two teams from Division B will be hoping to join Division A and compete for a place at Tokyo 2020 ©IWRF/Twitter
Two teams from Division B will be hoping to join Division A and compete for a place at Tokyo 2020 ©IWRF/Twitter

Successful teams in the Division A Championships will have the chance to secure a Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games quota spot.

This is the third time that Finland have hosted a European Championships.

The first was in 2007 and they also played host in 2015.

Espoo was the host city in 2007 but Lahti was chosen for 2015.

Finland were relegated from Division A after the 2017 European Championships and are currently ranked 16th on the IWRF World Ranking list.

Ireland are the highest ranked team in the competition with a world ranking of 15th.

Switzerland completes the top three prior to the tournament at number 17 in the world.

Austria, Belgium, Italy, The Netherlands and Russia occupy consecutive places on the world ranking list from 21st to 25th so should provide some exciting matches.