Canada enjoyed further success on the second day of the Championships ©Panam Canoe 2018

Lissa Bissonnette and Courtney Stott continued Canadian success on the second day of the Pan American and Para Pan American Canoe Sprint Championships.

The duo had formed half of Canada’s victorious four-woman kayak team yesterday in Lake Banook in Dartmouth.

They returned to the water in Nova Scotia to win the women’s K2 500 metres event in a time of 1min 52.892sec.

Mexico finished an agonising second with their team just 0.868 off the pace of the winners, while Argentina secured bronze.

Alanna Bray-Loughheed and Andreanna Langlois added further gold to the host’s tally by winning the women’s K2 200m in 41.664sec.

They emerged as the winners after a photo finish with second-placed Argentina, while Mexico were third.

Mark de Jonge and Alexander Scott repeated the feat in the men’s competition as the Canadians clocked 34.262 at the finish.

Crews from Argentina and Brazil completed the top three.

Connor Fitzpatrick and Roland Varga secured a fourth Canadian gold of the day when they ended the men’s C2 200m in 41.377.

Mexico and the United States were their only challengers in the final.

Canada continued their dominance of the event on day two ©Canoe Kayak Canada
Canada continued their dominance of the event on day two ©Canoe Kayak Canada

Argentina celebrated victory in the men’s K2 1000m as Manuel Lascano Micaz and Agustin Vernice combined to good effect.

The pairing achieved a winning time of 3:36.828 to hold off the challenge of Mexico and Brazil.

Cuba’s Fernando Dayán Jorge, who finished sixth in the men’s C2 1000m at the Rio 2016 Olympics, was able to earn a solo gold today.

He won the men’s C1 1000m in a time of 4:19.322, ending two seconds clear of runner-up Erlon De Souza Silva of Brazil.

Mexico’s Jose Everardo Cristobal Quirino was third.

Further Cuban gold came in the women’s C1 200m, as Mayvihanet Borges Samon triumphed in 50.890.

Chile’s Maria Mailliard and Ecuador’s Anggie Avegno rounded off the top three.

Mailliard returned to the water to win the women’s C2 1000m event with Karan Roco as the duo clocked a winning time of 4:46.945.

They ended nine seconds clear of second-placed Rowan Hardy-Kavanagh and Anna Roy-Cyr of Canada, while Colombia ended a further six seconds adrift in third.

There are 16 participating countries in the event including Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Chile.

In all, 350 athletes from both North and South America are set to take part, including 73 paddlers from the host nation.

In many disciplines, the Championships will serve as a qualifier for the 2019 Pan American Games in Lima.