Great Britain's George Peasgood won the men's PTS5 event on the second stop of the 2018 World Paratriathlon Series tour in Iseo in Italy ©Getty Images

Great Britain claimed an impressive four gold medals as the second stop on the 2018 World Paratriathlon Series tour took place in Iseo in Italy today.

Two of Britain's victories came from the PTS5 events with George Peasgood winning the men’s and Lauren Steadman coming out on top in the women’s.

Peasgood triumphed in a time of 59min 24sec, beating Canada’s Stefan Daniel by a margin of 21 seconds on the course made up of a 750 metres swim in Lake Iseo, a 21 kilometres cycle and 4.8km run in the city centre.

Spain’s Jairo Ruiz Lopez finished a further 50 seconds behind in third.

Steadman, meanwhile, led a British one-two ahead of Claire Cashmore as they clocked times of 1:07:18 and 1:12:26 respectively.

Rounding out the podium was France’s Gwladys Lemoussu in 1:13:11.

Britain also dominated the PTVI events with Dave Ellis winning the men's and Alison Patrick tasting victory in the women's.

Ellis finished in an unrivalled time of 1:01:51 and was followed by Spain’s Héctor Catalá Laparra in 1:04:53 and Italy’s Maurizio Romeo in 1:05:59.

Patrick took her win in 1:08:23, while Spain’s Susana Rodriguez was the runner-up in 1:10:06 and the United States' Amy Dixon third in 1:14:45.

Russia won the two PTS4 events today thanks to Mikhail Kolmakov in the men’s and Anna Plotnikova in the women’s.

Kolmakov prevailed in 1:05:17 with Spain’s Alejandro Sánchez Palomero second in 1:05:31 and Japan’s Hideki Uda third in 1:07:19.

Plotnikova held off Australia’s Sally Pilbeam to seal victory, posting a time of 1:18:39 to win by 17 seconds.

Britain’s Hannah Moore came third in 1:21:04.

The PTS2 events both went the way of the US with Mark Barr and Allysa Seely winning the men’s and women’s respectively.

Barr secured success in 1:07:28 with Britain’s Andrew Lewis coming second in 1:08:22 and Morocco’s Mohamed Lahna third in 1:08:29.

As for Seely, she crossed the line in 1:19:22 and was followed by Britain’s Fran Brown, second in 1:21:22, and fellow American Hailey Danz, third in 1:22:56.

Among today’s other winners were The Netherlands’ Jetze Plat in the men’s PTWC, Australia’s Lauren Parker in the women’s PTWC and Spain’s Daniel Molina in the men’s PTS3.

France’s Elise Marc was the sole competitor in the women’s PTS3 and registered a time of 1:21:58.

The next stop on the 2018 World Paratriathlon Series tour is due to be held in Edmonton in Canada from July 27 to 29.