Squash will be showcased at Buenos Aires 2018 ©Getty Images

Thirty-six players have been selected for squash's appearance as a "showcase" sport at the Buenos Aires 2018 Summer Youth Olympic Games.

The youngsters appearing in the Argentinian capital have been selected from 27 countries and will compete on an all-glass court at Technopolis Park.

It comes after squash and polo were confirmed as showcase sports, to be held additionally to the full sporting programme, in July of last year.

The move is aimed at following on from the successful "Sports Lab" concept launched at Nanjing 2014.

Roller sports, skateboarding, sport climbing and wushu were featured in the Sports Lab at the second edition of the Summer Youth Olympics in the Chinese city.

Skateboarding and sport climbing have since been added to the full Olympic Games programme for Tokyo 2020. 

Squash will hope that their appearance in Buenos Aires will help with their bid to finally be accepted as an Olympic sport.

"These players, all under-18, will play on the all-glass show court at Technopolis Park, and will meet the young people who will attend and encourage them to try squash at the introductory clinics," said World Squash Federation President Jacques Fontaine.

"Most importantly, they will be our representatives, our ambassadors.

Squash hope their appearance in Buenos Aires will help with their Olympic aspirations ©Getty Images
Squash hope their appearance in Buenos Aires will help with their Olympic aspirations ©Getty Images

"This is an exciting opportunity for squash to be a part of an Olympic event for the first time - hopefully a stepping stone towards achieving our dream of a place on the Olympic Games programme."

Squash has never appeared in the Olympic Games but bid unsuccessfully for London 2012, Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020. 

There are high hopes for inclusion at Paris 2024 in the home country of France's Fontaine.

The athletes picked include Jeremías Azaña, Dylan Tymkiw, Valentina Portieri and Abril Pellizari from hosts Argentina, Ethan Eyles and Alex Haydon from Australia, Meagan Best from Barbados, Charlotte Toogood from Bermuda, Gabriel Pederiva from Brazil, James Flynn from Canada, Luis Alejandro Mancilla from Colombia and Viktor Byrtus from the Czech Republic.

Maria Paula Moya from Ecuador, Mostafa Asal and Jana Shiha from Egypt, Erika Parker from El Salvador, Sam Todd and Alice Green from England, Toufik Mekhalfi from France and Alejandro Enriquez from Guatemala have also been named.

Further selections are Chung Yat Long and Chan Sin Yuk from Hong Kong, Tushar Shahani from India, Conor Moran from Ireland, Jonathan Walker from Jamaica, Erisa Sano Herring from Japan, Siow Yee Xian and Chan Yiwen from Malaysia, Dina Anguiano Gomez from Mexico, Fleur Maas from The Netherlands, Matthew Lucente and Kaitlyn Watts from New Zealand, Lujan Palacios from Paraguay, Rafael Gálvez from Peru, Georgia Adderley from Scotland and Ambre Allinckx from Switzerland.