Ryu Seung-min, foreground, is South Korea's only IOC member ©Getty Images

The Pyeongchang 2018 Organising Committee (POCOG) have announced the mayors of the Athletes' Villages for both the Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games.

South Korea's sole International Olympic Committee (IOC) member and Athens 2004 table tennis gold medallist Ryu Seung-min will manage the Olympic Village whilst former short track speed skater Kim Ki-hoon, who won the host nation's first-ever Winter Olympic medal in 1992, will oversee the Gangneung Olympic Village.

Park Eun-soo, the vice president of the Seoul Sports Association for the Differently-Abled, will be mayor of the Athletes' Village during the Paralympics.

POCOG have said the official naming of the mayors will take place in Pyeongchang next week.

The Pyeongchang Olympic Village, which was completed last month, will house athletes competing in snow events taking place in the Pyeongchang mountains and Jeongseon, 20 kilometres south of the mountains.

The Gangneung Olympic Village, approximately 20km east of the Pyeongchang mountains, will house athletes competing in ice sports.

The Gangneung Olympic Village will not be used during the Paralympics ©Getty Images
The Gangneung Olympic Village will not be used during the Paralympics ©Getty Images

The ice-based competitions will take place in the Gangneung coastal cluster, which contains the Gangneung Hockey Centre, the Gangneung Curling Centre, the Gangneung Oval and the Gangneung Ice Arena.

POCOG have said the Pyeongchang Olympic Village will be used during both the Olympics and Paralympics but that the Gangneung Olympic Village will only be used during the Olympics.

As reported by the Yonhap news agency, POCOG President Lee Hee-beom said: "I'm very happy that Ryu and Kim, who both have Olympic experience as athletes, and Park, a veteran administrator in disabled sports, will join us as mayors of Athletes' Villages.

"I expect athletes will feel at home when they stay at the villages."

The Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics will take place from February 9 to 25 with the Paralympics following from March 8 to 18.