Brothers Martin, right, and Valent Sinkovic of Croatia were named male crew of the year last year ©Getty Images

The World Rowing Federation is seeking public nominations for the 2017 World Rowing Awards.

This is a chance for the public to have their say by nominating who they believe put in an outstanding performance in rowing in 2017.

Nominations can be made in five award categories, including the male and female crews of the year.

The best coach and Para-crew will also be honoured, while the World Rowing Distinguished Service to Rowing Medal will also be awarded.

Only one nomination can be submitted for each category.

Nominations must be submitted by midnight, Central European Time, on October 23, and can be done so online here.

Britain's Rachel Morris, who received last year's Para-rowing award ©Getty Images
Britain's Rachel Morris, who received last year's Para-rowing award ©Getty Images

Once all of the nominations have been received, they will be reviewed by the FISA Council which will decide on the final shortlist. 

The list will then be put forward to FISA's Executive Committee, who will determine the winner in each of the five categories.

Winners will be publicly announced on December 7 with prizes handed out the following day at the 2017 World Rowing Awards dinner in London.

Croatia's doubles sculls pair Martin and Valent Sinkovic won the male crew of the year in 2016, with Poland's Magdalena Fularczyk-Kozlowska, Natalia Madaj - also double scullers - scooping the female prize.

Both duos won Olympic gold medals at Rio 2016.

Britain's single sculler Rachel Morris was named as the Para-crew of the year, with South Africa's Roger Barrow collecting the coaching prize. 

The distinguished service medal went to Australia's Reinhold Batschi.