Jordan Burroughs has been named chair of the UWW Athletes Commission ©Getty Images

The United States' Jordan Burroughs, the London 2012 Olympic champion, has been named chair of the United World Wrestling (UWW) Athletes' Commission.

Seven new members were voted onto the body by their fellow athletes at the 2017 World Wrestling Championships, held last month in French capital Paris.

In the commission’s first act, four-time world champion Burroughs was selected as chair.

The appointment rounded off a successful championships in Paris for Burroughs.

The 29-year-old arrived in the French capital desperate to make up for Rio 2016, where he finished only ninth.

He sealed his fourth world title with victory over Russian Khetik Tsabolov in the final of the 74 kilograms event. 

The American will be a voting member of the UWW bureau and replaces Beijing 2008 Olympic champion Carol Huynh of Canada.

She has served in the role since the Commission was first established in 2013.

Komeil Ghasemi has also been voted onto the Commission ©Getty Images
Komeil Ghasemi has also been voted onto the Commission ©Getty Images

Burroughs will be joined on the Commission by Nigeria's Odunayo Adekuoroye and Iran's Komeil Ghasemi, a London 2012 bronze and Rio 2016 silver medallist.

Armenia's Arsen Julfalakyan, a three-time Olympian, Rio 2016 bronze medallist Sofia Mattsson of Sweden and France's Mélonin Noumonvi have also been voted in.

The final member is China's Sun Yanan, a Rio 2016 bronze medallist and 2013 world champion.

The Athletes' Commission was formed to "protect the rights and interests of all UWW Olympic style athletes".

Commission members reach out and communicate with active athletes as peers to collect feedback.