Italy's Giovanni Achenza won the men’s PTWC event at the International Triathlon Union Para-triathlon World Cup in Iseo ©ITU

Hosts Italy were one of three nations along with Great Britain and France to claim two gold medals at the International Triathlon Union Para-triathlon World Cup in Iseo.

Giovanni Achenza won the men’s PTWC event, while fellow home favourite Anna Barbaro came out on top in the women’s PTVI competition.

Achenza clocked a time of 1 hour 7min 25sec with Germany’s Antonio Daniel Muller second in 1:16:32 and Czech Republic’s Jan Tomanek third in 1:17:43.

Barbaro, meanwhile, finished in 1:26:22 and was followed in the standings by Ukraine’s Vita Oleksiuk in 1:28:09 and France’s Annouck Curzillat in 1:32:26.

Britain’s two successes came courtesy of Karen Darke in the women’s PTWC event and Lauren Steadman in the women’s PTS5 competition.

Darke posted a time of 1:27:37 to ensure her place at the top of the podium ahead of France’s Mona Francis, the runner-up in 1:40:12.

European champion Steadman triumphed in 1:13:21 with France’s Gwladys Lemoussu second in 1:18:47 and Ukraine’s Alisa Kolpakchy third in 1:22:37.

Stephane Bahier was one of France’s two victors, winning the men’s PTS2 event in 1:12:47 ahead of Russia’s Vasily Egorov in 1:19:09 and Italy’s Michele Ferrarin in 1:20:23.

Alexis Hanquinquant also struck gold for the French in the men’s PTS4 competition, registering a time of 1:06:37.

Russia’s Mikhail Kolmakov came second in 1:09:49 followed by compatriot Denis Kungurtcev in 1:10:53.

Great Britain's Lauren Steadman won the women's PTS5 competition ©Getty Images
Great Britain's Lauren Steadman won the women's PTS5 competition ©Getty Images

Among the other athletes triumphing was Finland’s Liisa Lilja, who won the women’s PTS2 event in 1:27:53.

Russia’s Veronika Gabitova was the runner-up in 1:43:52, while Italy’s Veronica Yoko Plebani completed the podium in 1:53:47.

Croatia’s Antun Bošnjaković also tasted victory, claiming the men’s PTS3 title in 1:36:31, along with Russia’s Anna Plotnikova, the winner of the women’s PTS3 event in 1:28:42 with France’s Elise Marc second in 1:29:36.

Completing the list of winners were Spain’s Jairo Ruiz Lopez and Serbia’s Lazar Filipovic as they secured the men’s PTS5 and men’s PTVI events respectively.

Ruiz Lopez finished in 1:04:33 with Britain’s George Peasgood second in 1:05:20 and France’s Yannick Bourseaux third in 1:06:14.

Filipovic clocked a winning time of 1:07:24, holding off Italy’s Maurizio Romeo, the runner-up in 1:08:23, and France’s Antoine Perel, the bronze medallist in 1:11:06.