The Para-Cycling Road World Cup in Ostend continued with road race ©Twitter/UCI Para-Cycling

Edward Maalouf was among the gold medallists as The Netherlands secured three road races titles at the Para-Cycling Road World Cup in Ostend.

The Dutchman emerged victorious at the end of the 56 kilometre men’s H3 road race event, ending in a time of 1hour, 36min and 18sec.

He would cross the line 31sec clear of France’s David Franek and Italy’s Paolo Cecchetto, with the pair finishing in silver and bronze medal positions.

Jetze Plat secured a second gold for The Netherlands, narrowly holding off home rider Jonas van de Steene of Belgium.

They would both cross the line in a time of 1:28:33 in the men’s H4 race, while Germany’s Vico Merklein was a second further back to take bronze.

A final Dutch triumph was sealed when Carmen Koedood won the women’s H2 classification race in 1:07:53, edging out Ireland’s Ciara Staunton on the line.

Germany would also enjoy multiple victories, with Andrea Eskau winning the women’s H5 road race in a time of 1:22:17.

Jennette Jansen finished on the same time as the winner in second, with the podium completed by her fellow Dutchwoman Laura de Vaan, who was 3:45 behind.

The women’s H4 race saw Christiane Reppe claim Germany’s second title as she won in 1:21:36, ending just two seconds clear of Russia’s Svetlana Moshkovich.

Britain’s Melissa Nicholls was 4:20 down on the winner’s time in third place.

Britain's Craig McCann was among the winners in Belgium ©British Cycling
Britain's Craig McCann was among the winners in Belgium ©British Cycling

Nicholls’ team-mate Craig McCann continued his impressive start to the season by winning the men’s T2 road race.

McCann, who competed in wheelchair fencing at London 2012, claimed victory in a time of 46:19.

He edged out Germany's Hans-Peter Durst, as the wold champion ended on the same time in second place.

Belgium’s Tim Celen rounded off the top three, finishing 51sec behind the leading pair.

The United States’ Jill Walsh triumphed in the women’s event, racing to victory in a time of 48:33.

Australia’s Carol Cooke and Germany’s Jana Majunke were 1:20 and 2:04 behind respectively, with the pair rounding off the podium positions.

William Groulx and Alfredo de los Santos would also earn victories for the United States.

Santos won men’s H5 gold in a time of 1:38:57, with the Netherlands Tim de Vries and Portugal’s Luis Costa ending on the same time in second and third.

The H2 race was won by Groulx in 1:21:42, with Italy’s Luca Mazzone taking silver on the same time.