The Brazilian Olympic Committee has revealed its Athletes’ Commission for the new Olympic cycle ©COB

Judoka Tiago Camilo and modern pentathlete Yane Marques will chair the new-look Brazilian Olympic Committee’s (COB) Athletes’ Commission revealed for the new Olympic cycle, it has been announced.

Camilo is a two-time Olympic medallist having won under 73 kilograms silver at Sydney 2000 and under 81kg bronze at Beijing 2008.

Marques, meanwhile, won an Olympic bronze medal in the women’s individual event at London 2012.

The members of the Commission were elected by athletes that participated in the last two Summer Olympic editions, London 2012 and Rio 2016.

Between them, they have more than 14 Olympic and 69 Pan-American Games medals and several world and continental titles.

"Our goal is to increase the participation of athletes in the decisions of sports entities," said COB President Carlos Nuzman, part of the first Brazilian male volleyball team at Tokyo 1964.

This is the third formation of the BOC Athletes’ Commission created in 2009.

International Olympic Committee member Bernard Rajzman, an Olympic volleyball silver medalist at Los Angeles 1984, was the first chairman of the COB Athletes’ Commission.

Judoka Tiago Camilo will co-chair the Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images
Judoka Tiago Camilo will co-chair the Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Hosts Brazil ranked 13th in the medal table at Rio 2016. 

The country won seven golds, six silvers and six bronzes.

Among their gold medallists was judoka Rafaela Silva. 

Both she and canoeist Isaquias Queiroz were named as the COB Athletes of the Year at their recent awards evening in Rio de Janeiro.

Silva was the winner of Brazil’s first gold medal when she claimed a golden point victory in women’s under 57kg final, overcoming Mongolia's Sumiya Dorjsuren.

Queiroz was also honoured having become the first Brazilian to win three medals at the same Olympic Games.

He won C-1 1,000 metres silver at Rio 2016, as well as winning bronze in both the C-1 200m and C-2 1,000m.