Ghulam Shabber, batting, has been fined 20 per cent of his match fee ©Getty Images

An international cricketer has been fined after admitting he broke the stumps with his wicketkeeping gloves during a direct hit run-out when the ball missed.

Ghulam Shabber was representing the United Arab Emirates in a One Day International (ODI) against Papua New Guinea in Abu Dhabi yesterday.

In the 20th over of the visitors' innings, Shabber appealed successfully for a run out against batsman Lega Siaka.

However, after the match finished, a review of television footage showed the ball had in fact missed the stumps and the 31-year-old had broken the wicket with his gloves.

Shabber, who has played seven ODIs and five Twenty20 internationals for the UAE, admitted to the incident, which breaches the International Cricket Council Code of Conduct.

It was determined no formal hearing was required and match referee Steve Bernard issued a fine of 20 per cent of Shabber’s match fee.

One demerit point has also be added to his disciplinary record.

If Shabber collects another three demerit points over the next two years, he will face a ban of two ODIs or T20s for the UAE.