The draw has been made for the men's tournament in Tenerife ©IWBF

All three medal winning teams from the previous edition of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) Men's European Championships have been placed in the same group for this year's tournament. 

Defending champions Great Britain will meet the team they beat in the 2015 final, Turkey, and bronze medallists Germany in Group A at the event on Spanish island Tenerife from June 19 until July 1.

Israel, Sweden and Lithuania will also play in Group A.

In Group B, Paralympic silver medallists and hosts Spain will meet The Netherlands, Switzerland, Poland, Italy and France.

The draw for the men's competition took place at the Centro Cultural de Los Cristianos Arona in Tenerife.

All three medallists from 2015 will play in Group A ©IWBF
All three medallists from 2015 will play in Group A ©IWBF

The Spanish Federation of Sports for People with Physical Impairment (FEDDF) will organise the event on the Canary Island.

Tenerife will also host the women's tournament at the same time.

Britain won the men's title on home soil at the University of Worcester in 2015, beating Turkey 87-66 to retain their title for the third consecutive competition. 

Spain's men will play the Swiss to open the tournament, with the full schedule yet to be announced.