The captains pose by Sydney Harbour Bridge before the World Rugby Sevens Series taking place in the Australian city ©Getty Images

Australia’s Olympic champions from Rio 2016 will be looking to bag a first tournament win of the season as the World Rugby Women’s Seven Series comes to their home soil in Sydney.

Action in the second leg of the Series kicks-off tomorrow at the Allianz Stadium before the men’s teams all take to the field a day later, the first time the city in New South Wales will host a combined event.

At the Olympics last year, Australia defeated New Zealand 24-17 at the Deodoro Stadium to claim the first women’s rugby sevens gold medal.

However, in the opening leg of the World Series in Dubai in December, the Black Ferns turned the tables by beating their rivals in the final.

Despite the loss, Australian captain Sharni Williams said her side are not looking for revenge and are instead just looking to put on a good show in front of a home crowd.

"We’ve actually spoken in the team and this is probably as big as the gold medal match," Williams said.

"We didn’t feel the pressure over there, whereas you’re representing your country in your country this weekend.

Australian women's captain Sharni Williams with her New Zealand counterpart Sarah Goss ©Getty Images
Australian women's captain Sharni Williams with her New Zealand counterpart Sarah Goss ©Getty Images

"Women’s sport is just growing and growing and we want to be the role models for those girls and to do that on home soil is a lifetime dream."

Australia will be in Pool B alongside Fiji, Ireland and Brazil.

Pool A is headed by New Zealand and they will take on France, Canada and Papua New Guinea.

Russia, England, Spain and the United States will contest Pool C with the finals taking place on Saturday (February 4).

South Africa currently lead the men’s series after victories in Dubai and Wellington, New Zealand, along with a runners-up finish behind England at home in Cape Town.

They will come up against the English in Pool A and also face Kenya and Japan.

Pool B features Fiji, France, Wales and Samoa while Pool C contains hosts Australia, New Zealand, Scotland and Papua New Guinea.

Canada, Argentina, Russia and the US are in Pool D.

The men’s final will be played on Sunday (February 5).