Maiken Caspersen Falla topped the sprint podium in Davos ©Getty Images

Maiken Caspersen Falla promoted herself to the top of the sprint podium as the International Ski Federation (FIS) Cross-Country World Cup season continued in Davos in Switzerland today.

The Norwegian, the Sochi 2014 sprint Olympic champion, has had to make do with two second place finishes in the discipline so far this campaign, in Ruka in Finland and on home snow in Lillehammer.

After progressing through the qualifying races, the 26-year-old made it third-time lucky today as she came home first in the final in a winning time of 2min 44.63sec.

Her compatriot Ingvild Flugstad Østberg, the winner over 15 kilometres in Davos yesterday, was second 0.53sec back as Hanna Falk of Sweden took bronze in the six skier race, 0.60sec adrift.

It means that Falla leads the overall sprint standings with 226 points, with Østberg second on 156 and Falla third on 132.

Østberg is the overall World Cup leader with a tally of 549, with another Norwegian, Heidi Weng, second on 539.

Sergey Ustiugov claimed Russian gold in the men's event ©Getty Images
Sergey Ustiugov claimed Russian gold in the men's event ©Getty Images

Finland's Krista Parmakoski is third on 453.

In the men's competition, Russia's Sergey Ustiugov came out on top as he won the six-man final in 2:24.65.

He finished the two lap, 1.6 kilometre course used by both the men and women in front of Finn Haagen Krogh of Norway, who was just under a second behind.

Sindre Bjoernestad Skar, another Norwegian, was third in a time that was 3.29sec slower than the Russian.

Norway's Paal Golberg, eliminated at the quarter-final stage today, continues to lead the Sprint World Cup table on 154 points.

Ustiugov is now second on 132 with Sweden's Calle Halfvarsson third on 130.

In the overall standings, defending champion Martin Johnsrud Sundby of Norway is out in front with 450 points after his 30km win yesterday.

His team-mate Emil Iversen is second on 326, with Halfvarsson third on 316.

Both the men's and women's seasons will now move to La Clusaz in France with mass start races on December 17.