Antoine Griezmann, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are in the running for the men's award ©Getty Images

Atlético Madrid forward Antoine Griezmann has been nominated alongside Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi for FIFA’s men’s player of the year award.

The Frenchman was the top scorer at this summer’s European Championships in his home nation and helped guide his club to the final of the UEFA Champions League, where they were beaten on penalties by city rivals Real Madrid.

Ronaldo also enjoyed another trophy-laden year, including securing his first honours at international level as Portugal overcame Griezmann’s France in the Euro 2016 final.

The 31-year-old was instrumental in Real Madrid’s Champions League triumph, converting the winning penalty in the final after scoring 16 goals in the tournament.

Argentina’s Messi, the winner of the Ballon d’Or earlier this year for a record fifth time, was a key figure in Barcelona’s league and cup double in the 2015-2016 season.

Two players will effectively be crowned as the best in the world this year after France Football magazine and FIFA ended their six-year partnership in September.

France Football are continuing with the Ballon d’Or award, which will be decided purely by journalists.

Griezmann, Ronaldo and Messi were named among the 30-strong shortlist for the prize in October.

It began in 1956 and it was awarded to the best European player of the previous 12 months until 1994.

From the following year, it was given to the best footballer from any continent who played for a European club until France Football and FIFA struck a deal worth £13 million ($17 million/€16 million) in 2010, where it then became the FIFA Ballon d’Or, replacing the FIFA World Player of the Year.

Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri has been nominated for the Coach of the Year award ©Getty Images
Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri has been nominated for the Coach of the Year award ©Getty Images

American Carli Lloyd, Germany’s Melanie Behringer and Brazilian star Marta are in the running for the women’s award.

Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri, who guided his side to their first-ever Premier League title last season, is among the nominees for the FIFA Coach of the Year.

Leicester narrowly avoided relegation in the 2014-2015 season and their triumph in the following campaign ranks among the greatest-ever sporting achievements.

Portugal boss Fernando Santos and French World Cup winner Zinédine Zidane, the current manager of Real Madrid, are the other two coaches nominated for the men’s award.

Silvia Neid, who led the German women to the Olympic gold medal in Rio de Janeiro, Sweden’s Pia Sundhage and American Jill Ellis make up the list of nominations for the women’s prize.

Marlone’s acrobatic effort for Corinthians against Cobresal in the Copa Libertadores in April is one of three efforts in the running for the FIFA Puskás award, given to the best goal of the past year.

Daniuska Rodríguez’s sensational solo goal for Venezuela in their clash with Colombia at the U-17 Women’s Football Championship in March and Mohd Faiz Subri’s stunning long-range free-kick for Penang against Pahang in the Malaysia Super League in February comprise the rest of the list.

The winners of the Best FIFA Football Awards 2016 will be determined through a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision is based on the votes of captains and head coaches from national teams across the world.

The other half will be split between an online public ballot of football fans, and submissions from a selected group of worldwide media representatives.

The winners are set to be crowned at the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on January 9, which takes place during a two-day meeting of FIFA's ruling Council.