Simona Krupeckaitė claimed the women's sprint title ©Getty Images

Lithuania's Simona Krupeckaitė rolled back the years to claim sprint gold on the final day of the European Cycling Union (UEC) European Track Championships today as Belgium won the first ever continental women's madison event.

Krupeckaitė has enjoyed a good week at the National Velodrome Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines in Paris, adding the individual sprint crown to the bronze medals she won in the keirin and team sprint events.

The 33-year-old won both races against Russian opponent Anastasiia Voinova in the final to take a first major Championship title since she won two European gold medals in 2012.

Tania Calvo Barbero of Spain beat Belgium's Nicky Degrendele in the battle for bronze.

Belgium had earlier claimed victory in the first women's madison race to be held at the European Championships.

Tomáš Bábek was among the other winners on the final day of competition ©Getty Images
Tomáš Bábek was among the other winners on the final day of competition ©Getty Images

Jolien Hoore and Lotte Kopecky posted 36 points to finish 10 ahead of Emily Kay and Emily Nelson of Britain.

Dutch duo Nina Skessler and Kirsten Wild took bronze.

Spanish pairing Sebastián Mora and Albert Torres won the corresponding men's event with a haul of 51 points.

France's Benjamin Thomas and Morgan Kneisky finished second, six points behind, with Belgium's Kenny Ketele and Moreno de Pauw a further point back in third.

Czech Republic's Tomáš Bábek was the day's other winner in the men's keririn.

He sped to victory ahead of Ukraine's Andriy Vynokurov and home hope, Charly Conord.