The IIHF have revealed their committee line-ups for the next four years ©Getty Images

Former USA Hockey President Ron DeGregorio is to lead the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) Governance Reform Group after the governing body officially announced their committees for 2016 to 2020.

A total of 124 different people were named to various committees which were suggested by the IIHF membership, with 31 countries represented across the 19 groups.

The committee structure was presented at the IIHF semi-annual congress in September, with the majority of the groups due to hold their first meeting when their term begins in December.

DeGregorio’s appointment to the Governance Reform Group had already been announced by IIHF President René Fasel earlier this year, with the governing body targeting a restructuring before the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics, as they seek to boost their transparency and integrity.

He is joined by Horst Lichtner and Piet Heer, who will act as secretaries, while the United States’ Dave Ogrean, Switzerland’s Florian Kohler and Roman Rotenberg of Russia are also on the committee.

DeGregorio will also head the legal committee.

With the next two Winter Olympics taking place in Pyeongchang and Beijing respectively, the IIHF are striving to continue focused development in Asia through their dedicated committee.

Hong Kong’s Thomas Wu will continue to lead the committee, with China’s Chunlu Wang, Chiniese Taipei’s Ching-Wu Sun, Malaysia’s Susan Loh and Mohamed Aref of the United Arab Emirates set to support the effort.

Ron DeGregorio will lead the IIHF's Governance Reform Group ©Getty Images
Ron DeGregorio will lead the IIHF's Governance Reform Group ©Getty Images

Canada’s Bob Nicholson has moved from chairing the competition and inline committee to head the player safety group, with his previous role now being taken up by Germany’s Franz Reindl.

Vladislav Tretiak, President of the Ice Hockey Federation of Russia, will continue to chair the athletes’ committee while Canada’s Tom Renney will chair the coaching committee.

The disciplinary and finance groups will be led by Germany’s Gerhard Mosslang and Luc Tardif of France respectively, while Germany’s Beate Grupp will preside over the ethics and integrity committees, as well as the environmental and social panel.

Finland’s Kalervo Kummola, the Czech Republic’s Petr Briza and Zsuzsanna Kolbenheyer of Hungary have been selected to lead the marketing, youth and women’s committees respectively.

Sergej Gontcharov, who became an IIHF Council member earlier this year, leads the officiating committee and Denmark’s Henrik Bach Nielsen retains his chairmanship of the medical committee.

Fasel will continue in his role as the historical committee chairman, with the final panel seeing Spain’s Frank Gonzalez chair the facilities working group.