Oksana Masters has now won back-to-back IPC women's sitting titles ©Getty Images

America's Oksana Masters claimed the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Cross-Country Skiing World Cup women’s sitting title with a race to spare after winning the 20 kilometre marathon at Vuokatti in Finland.

Masters had triumphed in the sprint event on Thursday (March 17) but showed her endurance over the longer event, crossing the line in a winning time of 1 hour 00.57sec.

Russia’s Irina Guliaeva and Nadezhda Fedorova were narrowly off the pace to complete the podium positions in 1:01:11 and 1:02:45.

The victory saw the Ukrainian-born Masters, a Paralympic bronze medallist in rowing at London 2012 before switching to cross-country skiing in time for Sochi 2014, seal her second consecutive overall title.

She will seek to round of the season with a win in tomorrow’s middle distance event.

Russia’s Ivan Golubkov sealed the men’s sitting crown,  despite finishing a lowly ninth in today’s competition.

Maksim Yarovyi took advantage of his rival's uncharacteristic display, as the Ukrainian claiming victory in a time of 52:31.

Canada’s Chris Klebl and South Korea’s Eui-Hyun Sin had a closely fought battle for the silver medal, the former eventually finishing 0.07 seconds ahead at the finish in 53:42.3.

Ukraine's Oleksandra Kononova won the women's standing competition
Ukraine's Oleksandra Kononova won the women's standing competition ©Getty Images

Brian McKeever delivered for Canada in the visually impaired event, claiming the gold medal alongside his guide Graham Nishikawa, after clocking 1:20:43.

Russia’s Alexsander Artemov and France’s Thomas Clarion were well adrift of the winner but clinched podium places in times of 1:24:40 and 1:25:00 respectively.

In the women’s event, Russia’s Elena Remizova posted a time of 1:36:22 with her guide Maksim Pirogov to claim the victory.

Her team-mate and rival for the overall World Cup title Mikhalina Lysova was second on 1:41:03.8.

Ukraine’s Oksana Shyshkova earned the bronze medal with her guide Vitalii Kazakov in 1:45:11.3.

Oleksandra Kononova triumphed in the women’s standing in 1:39:09.6.

Sweden’s Helen Ripa and Russia’s Ekaterina Rumyantseva finished behind the Ukrainian in 1:41:29.5 and 1:42:54.4.

Russia dominated the men’s event as Vladislav Lekomtsev and Rushan Minnegulov delivered a one-two, crossing the line in 1:17:52.8 and 1:18:56.6 respectively.

France’s Benjamin Daviet won the bronze medal  in 1:19:48.6.