Jody Cundy earned the 11th cycling world title of his career ©Getty Images

Britain and China emerged as the dominant nations on the opening day of the International Cycling Union (UCI) Para-cycling Track World Championships at the Montichiari velodrome in Italy.

Kadeena Cox, who won T37 100 metres gold for Britain at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships last year, showed her ability on the bike by posting a time of 37.456 seconds in the women’s C4 time trial.

It proved enough for the 25-year-old to secure the title, with China’s Jianping Ruan and New Zealand’s Katherine Horan completing the podium in 37.835 and 39.730 respectively.

Cox’s team-mate Jody Cundy was able to secure the 11th world cycling title of his career in the equivalent men’s event, held over a kilometre, as he clocked a time of 1min 4.654sec.

The 37-year-old was two seconds faster than Slovakia’s Jozef Metelka, while China’s Wei Guoping clinched the bronze in 1:08.590.

A third and final gold of the day for the British team, who topped the medals table in 2015, came through Megan Giglia after she defeated Germany’s Denise Schindler in the women’s C3 3km pursuit by posting a time of 4:07.565.

Australia’s Simone Kennedy beat the United States’ Jamie Whitmore by 0.287 seconds to win a closely fought bronze medal ride off.

Canada’s Tristen Chernove claimed gold in the men’s C2 3km event, securing a comfortable nine second win over Ireland’s Colin Lynch, while Russia’s Arslan Gilmutdinov posted a time of 3:49.732 to beat China’s Guihua Liang to win bronze.

The men’s C3 3km pursuit gold was secured by Joseph Berenyi, as the American successfully defended his title by finishing in 3:35.569, with Australia’s David Nicholas just a second off the pace.

Alyda Norbruis was unable to defend her women's C2 3km pursuit title
Alyda Norbruis was unable to defend her women's C2 3km pursuit title ©Getty Images

Bronze was earned by Ireland’s Eoghan Clifford with his time of 3:38.741 seeing him finish three seconds clear of Japan’s Masaki Fujita.

The final men’s pursuit title was won by China’s Li Zhangyu as he defeated Canada’s Ross Wilson by three seconds in the C1 event, while The Netherlands’ Arnoud Nijhuis overtook the United States’ William Lister to win the bronze medal contest.

It was the fourth gold of the day for China, with Zeng Sini claiming the major scalp of dethroning The Netherlands’ Alyda Norbruis in the women’s C2 3km competition.

Zeng defeated the Dutchwoman, who won three titles in front of a home crowd last year, by ending a second clear in 4:13.373.

Her team-mate Song Zhenling was unable to claim a podium position, after she finished four seconds down on Colombia’s Daniela Carolin Munevar in the bronze medal contest.

A final Chinese gold was won by Li Jieli, who posted 4:45.304 in the women’s C1 competition.

World record holder Zhou Jufang had got their team off to the ideal start in the morning session by winning the C5 500m time trial in 37.389, with Britain’s Sarah and Crystal Lane posting 37.589 and 37.796 to finish on the podium.

Spain’s Alfonso Cabello Llamas triumphed in the men’s event with his time of 1:05.045 proving enough to see off the challenge of Britain’s Jon-Allan Butterworth and Australia’s Alistair Donohoe.