Kurt Oatway claimed the men's sitting title ©Getty Images

Kurt Oatway claimed the overall men's downhill sitting title with victory at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Alpine Skiing World Cup finals in Aspen today.

The Canadian Paralympian clocked 1 min 12.93 sec on Buttermilk Mountain in the American resort, to seal his place at the top of the leaderboard.

Austria's Roman Rabl came home in 1:14.43 for silver with Japan's Akira Kano clocking 1:14.91 for bronze.

"The course today when the sit skiers got to go was a bit soft and bumpy,” Oatway said.

“It wasn’t an easy track by any stretch but manageable and I pulled out a win today.

“It’s a massive improvement over last year and right now I’m sitting third for overall [men’s sitting].”

A number of other skiers also clinched crystal globes for overall titles despite not finishing top of the podium on the day.

Twenty-year-old German Anna-Lena Forster was third in the women's sitting which proved to be enough, with her time of 1:22.62 behind her compatriot Anna Schaffelhuber, the Paralympic champion who descended in 1:20.89 for the race win.

Markus Salcher won the men's standing class
Markus Salcher won the men's standing class ©Getty Images

American Laurie Stephens managed 1:21.06 for second on the day and was also runner-up overall.

In the men's visually impaired, Canada's world champion Mac Marcoux sealed the overall title with guide and brother BJ.

Their time of 1:12.81 was enough for second on the day, behind American Mark Bathum who backed up his race win yesterday with guide Cade Yamamoto in a time of 1:12.04.

Russia's Ivan Frantsev timed at 1:14.11 to take bronze with guide German Agranovskii.

The women's visually impaired title went to Belgium's Eleonor Sana, who was absent today amid a British clean sweep of the podium.

Millie Knight was timed at 1:19.70 to lead her teammates with guide Brett Wild, with Menna Fitzpatrick, guided by Jennifer Kehoe, second in 1:21.73.

Paralympic super-G champion Kelly Gallagher came home in 1:22.17 for bronze with Gary Smith.

In the men's standing, Austria's Paralympic champion Markus Salcher recorded 1:14.83 for second place and overall victory.

New Zealand's Adam Hall won on the day in 1:14.71, with Russia's world champion Aleksei Bugaev third in 1:14.91.

France's Marie Bochet, already assured of the women's standing overall title, continued her winning streak in 1:18.66.

The Paralympic and world champion finished ahead of American Stephenie Jallen who timed at 1:18.90 and Dutch skier Anna Jochemsen who managed 1:22.39.

The overall super-G globe winners will now be decided in Aspen tomorrow and Friday (March 4).