Jorien ter Mors won her second title in Kolomna ©Getty Images

Jorien ter Mors fended off the challenge of two American rivals to win her second title at the International Skating Union (ISU) World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships in Kolomna.

The 26-year-old Dutch star won the women's 1,000 metres title on Friday (February 12) and added the 1,500 gold at the Russian rink today.

She clocked 1 min 53.92 sec to beat the track record of 1:55.03, which was set in 2012 by Marrit Leenstra.

American Heather Richardson-Bergsma managed 1:54.67 for silver with her compatriot Brittany Bowe taking bronze in 1:55.09.

Ter Mors, who began life as a short track speed skater and won two long track gold medals at the Sochi 2014 Olympics, including the 1,500m, made her mark in the first pairing as she left Canada's Josie Spence almost ten seconds behind. 

"The first full lap was quite slow and I told myself to shift gear," she said.

"I managed to step up and that was my biggest gain.”

Seung-Hoon Lee won the men's mass start for South Korea
Seung-Hoon Lee won the men's mass start for South Korea ©Getty Images

Richardson-Bergsma and Bowe faced each other in the final pairing and both led the Dutch skater heading into the final lap, before tiring and having to settle for the minor medals.

Russia's Pavel Kulizhnikov also made it two titles in front of his home fans as the 1,000m champion took 500m glory.

After the first runs he found himself behind compatriot Ruslan Murashov by five thousandths of a second but he edged back in front after run two - claiming an overall winning time of 69.026.

Murashov, who was timed at 69.680, had to settle for silver with Canada's Alex Boisvert-Lacroix doing enough for bronze with 69.788.

Twenty-one-year-old Kulizhnikov became the fourth male speed skater to win back-to-back 500m world titles, joining Japan's Hiroyasu Shimizu, Canada's Jeremy Wotherspoon and South Korea's Tae-Bum Mo.

In the men's mass start, 2010 Olympic 10,000m champion Seung-Hoon Lee claimed the title to become the first Korean skater, male or female, to win a world title in an event that is not the 500m.

He came home in 7:18.26 to beat Arjan Stroetinga of The Netherlands, who was timed at 7:18.32, into silver, while 7:18.41 was enough to earn Alexis Contin of France the bronze.

The women's mass start concluded the Championships, with gold going to Ivanie Blondin of Canada after she managed 8:17.53.

South Korea were on the podium again as Bo-Reum Kim stopped the clocks at 8:17.66 with the bronze going to Miho Takagi of Japan who was only slightly behind on 8:17.68