The Namibian National Olympic Committee are due to announce the decision on Wednesday ©NNOC

The Namibian National Olympic Committee (NNOC) and Namibia Cycling Federation (NCF) are to announce their men’s road race cycling entrant for the Rio 2016 Olympics on Wednesday (February 10).

It follows the country securing one quota place for the Olympic Games, due to their riders’ performances during the International Cycling Union (UCI) Africa Tour during 2015.

Having secured the place, it continues the country’s recent participation in the men’s road races with Erik Hoffmann having represented Namibia at Beijing 2008 and Dan Craven at London 2012.

“The Namibia National Olympic Committee and the Namibia Cycling Federation is pleased to share with the nation that Namibia has been allocated a place in the men's elite road cycling for the 2016 Rio Summer Olympic Games,” the organisations wrote in a shared statement.

“We have received a formal invitation from the International Federation on 18 January 2016.

“We would like to first of all thank and congratulate all the athletes who have contributed towards the points, which resulted in us earning the place."

The NNOC and NCF determined that with the spot having been earned collectively they would determine a fair process towards selecting the athlete who would represent the country.

A points format was devised with the top cyclist at the 2015 Africa Tour receiving 30 per cent of the points towards their tally.

Dan Craven is favourite for the berth having won the national road race
Dan Craven is favourite for the berth having won the national road race ©Getty Images

Meanwhile, the 2015 All Africa Games would see an allocation of a further 30 per cent of the points, with the final 40 per cent granted to the winner of the 2016 National Road Race.

Craven looks the favourite to claim the spot as the 33-year-old, who rides at UCI Continental Level with the Cycling Academy Team, successfully retained the national title earlier this month.

Both the NNOC and NCF are due to meet to finalise the points allocation, before announcing the successful cyclist.