Lauren Fendrick and April Ross en route to victory against their Brazilian opponents ©Getty Images

Brazilian world champions were ousted by rampant American pairs in both the men's and women's competitions on a day of home success at the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) World Tour Finals in Fort Lauderdale.

Agatha Bednarczuk and Barbara Seixas, winners of the world crown in The Hague in July, were pitted against United States opponents Lauren Fendrick and April Ross, a pair making their World Tour debut after a remarkable year in success in the US.

Despite a sluggish start, the Americans ended on top in an absorbing 56 minute contest, winning 17-21, 21-19, 15-11.

The men's affair was similarly tough with 10th-seeded US duo Phil Dalhausser and Nick Lucena upseting second-seeded Alison Cerutti and Bruno Oscar Schmidt 18-21, 21-16, 15-11. 

This marked revenge for the home pair after Alison and Bruno defeated the Americans in a three-set gold medal finale last month in Long Beach, California.

Both US teams are now unbeaten after two matches, with Dalhausser and Lucena next facing third-seeded Reinder Nummerdor and Christiaan Varenhorst of The Netherlands, silver medalists at the World Championships

Action took place in a picturesque venue in Fort Lauderdale ©FIVB
Action took place in a picturesque venue in Fort Lauderdale ©FIVB

The Dutch opened their account today with a comfortable 21-18, 21-18 win in 44 minutes over seventh-seeded Ben Saxton and Chaim Schalk of Canada, who have now lost each of their opening two matches.

Other unbeaten women’s teams are second-seeded Talita Antunes and Larissa Franca of Brazil and third-seeded Canadians Heather Bansley and Sarah Pavan.

Talita and Larissa enjoyed two wins on a busy second day of competition, overcoming Madelein Meppelink and Marleen Van Iersel of The Netherlands 21-17, 15-21, 15-13, and Emily Day and Jennifer Kessy of the US 21-13, 21-18.

In men’s Pool A, fourth-seeded Dutch duo Alexander Brouwer and Robert Meeuwsen of The Netherlands and fifth-seeded Evandro Goncalves and Pedro Solberg of Brazil are the group leaders with 1-0 records.

Evandro and Pedro, who captured world bronze in The Hague, outlasted ninth-seeded Daniele Lupo and Paolo Nicolai of Italy 13-21, 21-19, 15-12.

Brouwer and Meeuwsen, the 2013 world champions, scored a 19-21, 26-24, 15-11 win in 64 minutes over eighth-seeded Adrian Gavira and Pablo Herrera of Spain.

Pool action continues tomorrow before competition concludes over the weekend.

Related stories
September 2015: Lupo and Nicolai open FIVB World Tour Finals campaign with victory over top seeds
July 2015: Exclusive: FIVB President Graça hopeful of taking Beach Volleyball World Championships to London
July 2015: FIVB President Graça reveals new LED net ready for competition and predicts explosion in volleyball post-Rio 2016
July 2015: Barbara and Agatha crowned women’s beach volleyball world champions after victory in all-Brazilian final
July 2015: Brazil secure second Rio 2016 spot after two pairs advance to women's Beach Volleyball World Championship final