Ethopian runner Genzebe Dibaba's superb 2014 saw her crowned Sportswoman of the year at the Laureus Sports Awards ©Getty Images

Ethiopian athlete Genzebe Dibaba and two-time Wimbledon champion Novak Djokovic have scooped the top prizes at the Laureus Sports Awards after they were unveiled as the winners at a ceremony in Shanghai.

Dibaba was named World Sportswoman of the Year following an incredible 2014 saw her break three world records in different events in two weeks, a feat that had previously only been achieved by world-famous sprinters Jesse Owens and Usain Bolt.

The 24-year-old Ethiopian’s record-breaking month came in February as she set the best time ever recorded in the indoor 1500 metres in Karlsruhe, Germany, before she continued her impressive form by doing the same in the indoor 3,000m in the Swedish capital of Stockholm five days later.

She then rounded off her superb spell in the indoor two-mile race in Birmingham, England.

The youngster took the prestigious award ahead of tennis duo Serena Williams and Li Na, Slovenian Alpine skier Tina Maze and New Zealand shot putter Valerie Adams.

Djokovic also enjoyed another fantastic year as in 2014, he reclaimed his spot as the world number one in men’s tennis and he also clinched a second Wimbledon title by virtue of a five-set victory over Swiss star Roger Federer.

He beat off competition from a host of stellar names to land the World Sportsman of the Year prize, including Britain’s Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton, French pole-vaulter Renaud Lavillenie, football’s Cristiano Ronaldo from Portugual and Northern Ireland's three-time golf major winner Rory McIlroy.

World number one tennis player Novak Djokovic claimed the Sportsman of the Year Award following another superb year for the Serbian star
World number one tennis player Novak Djokovic claimed the Sportsman of the Year Award following another superb year for the Serbian star ©Getty Images

“This is probably the crown of my 2014 season that has been highlighted with winning Wimbledon, regaining number one in the world and becoming a father,” the Serbian said.

“It has probably been my best year so far in my life.”

Germany’s men’s football team claimed the Laureus Sports Team of the Year after they secured their fourth FIFA World Cup by beating Argentina thanks to Mario Gotze’s extra-time winner in the final in Rio de Janeiro.

Their victory was the first time in the tournament’s history that a European nation had won the World Cup in South America, and manager Oliver Bierhoff was present in Shanghai to receive the award.

“At the final whistle we were together on the pitch, the coaches, players, team staff members, it was such a connection amongst us,” he said.

“For the coaches and some of the players and me it was a ten year project and we were so happy at this moment.”

There was also success for the United States at the ceremony as wheelchair racer Tatyana McFadden, who clinched triple gold at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, won the Laureus Disability Award.

Elsewhere, South Africa’s Schalk Burger was given the Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award after he recovered from meningitis to reclaim his spot in the Springboks national side, and Formula One’s Daniel Ricciardo of Australia claimed the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award.

Related stories
June 2014: 
Shanghai to host 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards
March 2014: Vettel named World Sportsman of the Year at Laureus Awards