By Michael Pavitt

Olympic and world champions The Netherlands will compete in the second semi-final event in Antwerp ©AFP/Getty ImagesFollowing the final Hockey World League Round 2 event in Dublin, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) have confirmed the line-ups for the World League semi-final tournaments which will see Olympic qualification for Rio 2016 take centre stage.

The semi-finals consist of two ten-team events, with the top three teams at the first, set to be held in Valencia from June 10 to 21, advancing to next year's Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. 

Hockey's top 11 teams join the hunt for Rio 2016 at the semi-final stage, with Wold Cup bronze medallists and Champions Trophy winners Argentina set to compete in Valencia against China, Britain, Germany, South Africa and the United States.

World League Round 2 qualifiers Ireland, Canada and Uruguay will all participate in Valencia, alongside Spain, who automatically qualified as hosts.

Belgian city Antwerp are scheduled to host the second and final semi-final event from June 20 to July 5, as part of a joint men and women's event, with a further three women's teams set to progress to Rio 2016.

Olympic and world champions The Netherlands are set to headline the field, but they will face competition from Australia, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and hosts Belgium.

Olympic champions Germany will compete in the first men's semi-final due to be held in Buenos Aires ©Getty ImagesOlympic champions Germany will compete in the first men's semi-final due to be held in Buenos Aires ©Getty Images

India, Italy and Poland will also compete at the tournament having secured a top two finish in a World League Round 2 event, while as the highest ranked of third placed finishers Azerbaijan will complete the field in Antwerp.

Antwerp will simultaneously host the second of the men's semi-final events, featuring world champions Australia, Britain, India, Pakistan and hosts Belgium, while Round 2 qualifiers China, France, Malaysia, Ireland and Poland complete the line-up.

The first of the men's semi-finals is due to take place in the Argentina's capital city Buenos Aires from June 3 to 14, with the field including Olympic champions Germany and World Cup silver medallists The Netherlands.

World Cup bronze medallists and hosts Argentina will be joined by other top 10 nations, including New Zealand, South Korea and Spain, while Austria, Canada, Egypt and Japan join the field having qualified through the Round 2 events.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
March 2015:
Home nation Ireland claim Hockey World League Round 2 title 
March 2015:
Hosts Ireland to face Canada in Dublin Hockey World League 2 final
March 2015:
Hosts India seal women's Hockey World League semi-final spot as France claim men's honours
March 2015:
Surprise package China reach final at Hockey World League Round 2 event
March 2015:
Hosts South Africa book semi-final spot at Hockey World League second round event