By Gary Anderson

The Belgian Paralympic Committee has appointed its Rio 2016 Selection Committee ©BPCThe Belgian Paralympic Committee (BPC) has announced the composition of its Selection Committee for Rio 2016, with a number of former medallists nominated to the body, including double gold medal winner Mark De Meyer.

De Meyer won two Paralympic golds in athletics at the 1980 Games in Arnhem and is one of three former Paralympians chosen for the Selection Committee.

He is joined by three-time swimming silver medal winner Sébastien Xhrouet and former captain of the Belgian goalball team at Beijing 2008 and London 2012, Johan De Rick, who is also the representative of the Athletes' Commission.

Former wheelchair basketball player Freddy Hernou is also on the Committee, as is former tennis player Dominique Monami, who won a women's doubles bronze at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

They are joined by Jessica De Smet, Belgium's Chef de Mission at the 2004 Paralympics in Athens and the Winter Games at Turin 2006, and Paula Vanhoovels, sports coordinator at the Flemish Athletics League.

Belgian National Olympic Committee doctor Jan Verstuyft completes the eight appointments to the Committee, which will oversee the selection of athletes for the Belgian Paralympic squad for Rio 2016.

Former goalball player Johan De Rick (centre) is part of the Rio 2016 Selection Committee for Belgium ©Getty Images Former goalball player Johan De Rick (centre) is part of the Rio 2016 Selection Committee for Belgium ©Getty Images

Secretary general of the BPC, Anne d'Ieteren will act as chairman of the Selection Committee and will be supported by BPC sports director, Ellen Volckaert.

Alpine skiers Jasper Balcaen and Dennis Colle represented Belgium at this year's Sochi Winter Paralympics, while it sent 40 athletes to London 2012.

There, Belgium won seven medals, including two gold for Michele George in dressage and one gold for Marieke Vervoort in the women's T52 100 metres.

Vervoort also took silver in the 200m, while Frederic van den Heede won bronze in the men's T46 marathon.

Bronze medals were also secured by cyclist Wim Decleir and the boccia mixed pairs team of Pieter Cilissen, Pieter Verlinden and Kirsten de Laender.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]