By Zjan Shirinian

European bids are being called for by the International Sailing Federation as it continues to piece together the calendar for the 2014-15 Sailing World Cup ©Bongarts/Getty ImagesEuropean venues are being invited to submit bids to stage one of two legs of the 2014-2015 International Sailing Federation (ISAF) Sailing World Cup.

The two successful bids will join Qingdao, China, in October, Melbourne, Australia, in December and Miami, United States in January on the calendar for the annual World Cup.

ISAF will schedule the two European regattas between April and August 2015.

The Sailing World Cup Final has been scheduled for October 2015, with this year's inaugural final in Abu Dhabi.

Each winner of a Sailing World Cup regatta will qualify for the Final, where 20-boat fleets will battle it out for the overall title.

They can also qualify via their respective class world championships, the ISAF World Sailing Rankings and wild-card places.

Bids must been submitted to the ISAF by July 15.

An evaluation panel will announce the two winning venues by July 31.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
June 2014: 
United Arab Emirates to host Sailing World Cup Final through to 2017