By Gary Anderson

April 6 – World champions James Magnussen, Cate Campbell and Christian Sprenger will lead Australia's swimming team at Glasgow 2014 ©Getty Images Australia has named its swimming squad for this year's Commonwealth Games following the conclusion of the Australian Swimming Championships in Brisbane today, and sees the likes of world champions Cate Campbell, Christian Sprenger and James Magnusson aiming for gold in Glasgow.

Campbell, Sprenger and Magnusson all claimed World Championship titles in Barcelona last year while Sprenger and Magnusson will be defending Commonwealth titles from Delhi 2010.

Alicia Coutts won five gold medals four years ago and along with Campbell was part of the women's 4x100 metres relay team that secured Australia's only gold medal in the pool at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Rising star Cameron McEvoy also impressed in Brisbane this week, securing the 100m and 200m freestyle double to add to his 4x100m medley World Championships silver medal from last year.

Double Olympic champion Emily Seebohm also won two titles at the Brisbane Aquatic Centre and will be defending three Commonwealth titles at Glasgow 2014, which runs from July 23 to August 3.

Veteran Bronte Barratt looked in good shape as she powered to a national title in the women's 400m freestyle and the Beijing 2008 gold medallist will be looking to add to her Melbourne 2006 and Delhi 2010 wins in the 4x200m freestyle.

Alicia Coutts will be defending five Commonwealth Games titles at Glasgow 2014 ©Getty Images Alicia Coutts will be defending five Commonwealth Games titles at Glasgow 2014 ©Getty Images

Remy Fairweather finished second behind Barratt in Brisbane and is one of 15 swimmers who will be making their Team Australia debut in Glasgow which also includes Mack Horton, who announced his arrival with an impressive win in the men's 1,500m freestyle, finishing ahead of reigning national champion Jordan Harrison.

"We've seen some world class swimming in Brisbane this week and we are very pleased with how the swim team is shaping up for Glasgow," said Australian Commonwealth Games Association chief executive Perry Crosswhite.

"In Delhi four years ago, our swim team brought home 54 medals in total, including 22 gold, and with some new faces performing here in Brisbane, as well as a host of experienced athletes on the team, we are all looking forward to getting to Scotland in July and representing Australia."

Swimming Australia President John Bertrand had a special message for the 15 debutants as the country aims to get back to the top level of international swimming following a disappointing performance at London 2012 and at last year's World Championships.

"Representing this nation is something that you will never forget and on behalf of the Board of Swimming Australia I would like to personally congratulate you all on achieving your dream of swimming for this great country of ours," said Bertrand.

"I can assure you that much work has gone into creating a new spirit for our swim team and as rookies on the Australian Swim Team you will be coming into a team environment and culture that is building towards being the world's best by 2020."

Mack Horton will be one of 15 debutants on the Australian swimming team at Glasgow 2014 after winning the 1,500m freestyle national title in Brisbane ©Getty Images Mack Horton will be one of 15 debutants on the Australian swimming team at Glasgow 2014 after winning the 1,500m freestyle national title in Brisbane ©Getty Images

Australia's campaign at London 2012 was marred by revelations some swimmers had abused alcohol, prescription drugs and curfews during competition.

As a result, Swimming Australia underwent a raft of changes to key personnel which has seen the appointments of former British head of swimming Michael Scott as their new high performance director and Dutchman Jacco Verhaeren as the country's new head coach, while former Hockey Australia boss Mark Anderson replaced Kevin Neil as the governing body's chief executive.

Verhaeren will now be tasked with maintaining Australia's position as the number one Commonwealth swimming nation in Glasgow.

"Representing the Green and Gold is every athlete's dream, and our swimmers will do it with pride and passion when they race for Australia in Glasgow," added Bertrand.

Multiple Paralympic champions Matthew Cowdrey, Blake Cochrane, Brendan Hall, Jacqui Freney, Maddison Elliot and Katherine Downie are among 12 of the 59 swimmers in the squad who will be competing in the Para-swimming events at the Tollcross International Swimming Centre this summer.

The full Australian swimming squad for Glasgow 2014 is as follows:

Joshua Alford, Jessica Ashwood, Jesse Aungles, Bronte Barratt, Joshua Beaver, Alanna Bowles, Bronte Campbell, Cate Campbell, Blake Cochrane, Alicia Coutts, Matthew Cowdrey, Laura Crockart, Rowan Crothers, Tommaso D'Orsogna, Katherine Downie, Maddison Elliott, Brittany Elmslie, Daniel Fox, Remy Fairweather, Thomas Fraser-Holmes, Jacqueline Freney, Ellen Gandy, Jared Gilliland, Madeline Groves, Jayden Hadler, Brenden Hall, Jordan Harrison, Belinda Hocking, Mack Horton, Sally Hunter, Grant Irvine, Mitchell Kilduff, Mitch Larkin, Matson Lawson, Mathew Levings, James Magnussen, Travis Mahoney, Cameron McEvoy, Ned McKendry, David McKeon, Emma McKeon, Taylor McKeown, Keryn McMaster, Meagan Nay, Kotuku Ngawati, Jessica Pengelly, Leiston Pickett, Mitchell Pratt, Melanie Schlanger, Madeleine Scott, Emily Seebohm, Christian Sprenger, Eamon Sullivan, Kenneth To, Lorna Tonks, Daniel Tranter, Ben Treffers, Tessa Wallace and Chris Wright.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
April 2014: 
Thirteen-time Paralympic champion Cowdrey leads Australian squad for Glasgow 2014
March 2014: Bertrand challenges Australian swimmers to become benchmark for US rivals by 2020
October 2013: Swimming Australia going Dutch with new head coach
August 2013: Sort your act out or miss Rio 2016, Australian Olympic Committee warn disgraced men's relay team
pril 2013: Australia appoint former British Swimming head as new performance director