By Gary Anderson

March 23 - Oscar Kanjala has been re-elected President of the Malawi Olympic Committee ©FacebookOscar Kanjala has been re-elected unopposed as President of the Malawi Olympic Committee (MOC) after elections at held today at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge in Mangochi.

Kanjala, 49, was the only candidate on the nominated list endorsed by the MOC's Judicial Commission and will serve another four-year term in office.

Former vice-President Flora Mwandira was re-elected to the role to become the only female member of the seven-person Executive after defeating Ben Mlasaanthu, currently vice-president of the Basketball Association of Malawi (BASMAL).

Malawi Boxing Association (MABA) President Henry Sakala retained his position as MOC treasurer unopposed, while former treasurer Jappie Mhango was elected as the organisation's new secretary general after he was voted in ahead of Hellen Mpinganjira, who had held the position for three consecutive terms.

Mhango had been cleared to run in the MOC elections by Kanjala after he announced his intentions to run in upcoming Parliamentary elections in Malawi as an independent candidate after being disqualified by the governing People's Party.

The post of deputy secretary general went to the Football Association of Malawi (FAM) technical director John Kaputa.

The Aquatic Union of Malawi (AUM) President Dean Pinto lost out on a place as an Executive member after a second round of voting saw Malawi Handball Association general secretary Dennis Kumwenda secure the necessary votes to join Cycling Federation of Malawi (CFM) general secretary Jimmy Kadewere as the other member.

Former middle-distance runner Ken Dzekedzeke, who holds the Malawi national record in the 800 metres, was coopted onto the Committee as an athlete's representative.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]