By Duncan Mackay

The Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex will host the 2014 Men's World Squash Championships ©Qatar Olympic CommitteeJanuary 15 - Doha has been chosen to host the 2014 Men's World Squash Championships for the second time in three years, it was announced today.

The Professional Squash Association (PSA) will hold the event at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Qatar's capital between November 14 and 21. 

It will be the fourth time that the Gulf country has staged the Championships, having previously hosted it in 1998, 2004 and 2012, when the winner was Egypt's Ramy Ashour, who beat compatriot Mohamed El Shorbagy in the final. 

"We are delighted to be taking the 2014 World Championship back to Qatar, a country which has shown a true desire in recent years to be at the forefront of displaying world class squash," said PSA chief executive Alex Gough.

"The Qatar Squash Federation have been one of the sport's strongest supporters since first hosting the World Championship in 1998 and they have a proven record of delivering top-class events and we look forward to working with them over the coming months to prepare for the 2014 Championship.

"The 2013 World Championship in Manchester was a huge success for the sport and has set a standard that all other events are striving to emulate but I feel confident that Qatar will be up to the task of building on that legacy in 2014."

Egypt's Ramy Ashour won the title when Doha hosted the World Squash Championships in 2012 ©Qatar Olympic CommitteeEgypt's Ramy Ashour won the title last time Doha hosted the World Squash Championships in in 2012 ©Qatar Olympic Committee

It is the latest major event to be awarded to Qatar.

It is due to host the 2015 World Handball Championships, the 2016 World Cycling Road Championships, the 2018 World Gymnastics Championships and, of course, the 2022 FIFA World Cup

"World Class squash and Qatar have become synonymous with each other in recent years and we are pleased to be able to continue our long association with the World Championships in 2014," said Nabeel Ali Bin Ali, President of the Qatar Squash Federation 

"We look forward to working with the PSA and all players throughout the coming months to help us put on the best show possible and ensure that the 2014 World Squash Championship is one that delivers on all expectations."

Last week it was announced by the Women's Squash Championships that Penang in Malaysia will host the delayed 2013 Women's World Championships.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
January 2014:
 Penang to save the day and host delayed 2013 Women's World Squash Championships
December 2012: Egypt's Ashour claims Qatar PSA World Squash title
October 2012: Willstrop seeded to win first world squash title in Doha
April 2012: Doha picked to host 2012 World Squash Championships