By Gary Anderson

December 3 - Toronto 2015 has revealed Planet Bowl as the venue for the ten pin bowling competition during the Pan American Games ©Getty Images Toronto 2015 has announced Planet Bowl will host the bowling competition during the 2015 Pan American Games where 48 competitors will do battle on the lanes in the men's and women's events.

The venue will be known as the Pan Am Bowling Centre during the Games and will be part of the Etobicoke cluster for the Games with aquatics training and BMX competitions nearby.

"We're incredibly excited to host the Toronto 2015 Pan Am bowling tournament," said manager of Planet Bowl John Chapman, who is also a member of the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA).

"This is a wonderful opportunity for our facility to host an international competition and to join together in the community celebration when the Games come to Toronto and Canada in the summer of 2015."

Planet Bowl has 48 lanes and the facility previously staged a number of high level events, including the Ontario final World Cup trials, 2007 Canadian national finals of the Bowling World Cup and the 2006 Canadian team trials.

It will also host the Canadian team trials, which will determine the Canadian bowlers for the 2015 Pan Am Games, in May next year.

The venue was chosen after meeting the standards set by the International Federation of Bowlers (FIQ) and the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON).

"As the Host City of the Games, Toronto is excited to add bowling to its roster of sports competitions we'll be hosting in 2015," said the City of Toronto's Pan Am Games champion Mark Grimes.

"Toronto and Canada have a wealth of amateur bowling talent and success in this sport on the international stage.

"It will be great to bring those two elements together in 2015."

The competition in 2015 will consist of a men's and women's event as well as team competitions.

Kelly Kulick of the United States will be one of the stars competing on the lanes of Planet Bowl during Toronto 2015 ©Getty Images Kelly Kulick of the United States will be one of the stars competing on the lanes of Planet Bowl during Toronto 2015 ©Getty Images

Bowling became part of the official Pan Am Games sports programme at the 1991 Games in Havana and since then the United States has dominated the competition winning 20 gold medals in total.

Colombia's Santiago Mejia is the reigning men's champion from Guadalajara 2011 while Elizabeth Johnson from the US took the women's title.

Johnson and compatriot Kelly Kulick also took the women's team gold with William O'Neil and Chris Barnes completing a clean sweep of team events for the US.

Silver and bronze medallists in the women's singles in 2011, Jennifer Park and Caroline Lagrange will be among the big medal hopefuls again for hosts Canada.

"Elite bowling is an amazing sport to watch," said Ian Troop, chief executive of Toronto 2015.

"Almost everyone has tried bowling and knows how hard it is to get that elusive strike.

"These athletes make it look easy.

"It'll be a great community atmosphere as we cheer them on to victory in 2015."

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
November 2013: 
Toronto 2015 announces legacy fund to secure future of three Games facilities
July 2013: 
First Toronto 2015 venue officially opened two years before Pan American Games
April 2013: Toronto 2015 set for first inspection visit from Coordination Commission