By Nick Butler

Triple jumper Philips Idowu has endured disappointment over recent years resulting in his removal from Lottery fundingOctober 14 - Former world triple jump champion and silver medal winner at the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games Phillips Idowu has become one several high profile British athletes to have been removed from National Lottery funding for the 2013-2014 campaign.

Idowu, the 2009 world champion, failed to qualify for the final at London 2012 after a controversial build-up and then taking a break from the sport earlier this season, which involved missing the 2013 World Championships in Moscow, Idowu's removal from the list had been widely expected. 

Other medallists from the 2009 World Championships whose funding has been cut include Lisa Dobriskey, silver medallist in the 1500 metres, and Jenny Meadows and Andy Turner, bronze medallists in the 800m and 110m hurdles respectively, after suffering injury ravaged seasons this year.

Yamile Aldama, the 41-year-old triple jumper who won the world indoor title in 2012, has also left the programme, as has London 2012 finalist over 5,000 and 10,000m Jo Pavey.

On the other hand, the sprint quartet of Ashleigh Nelson, Annabelle Lewis, Hayley Jones and Dina Lewis-Asher join the funding programme after they formed part of the squad which won a World Championship bronze medal in Moscow after not even qualifying for London 2012.

Great Britains womens 4 x 100m relay team have been rewarded for their bronze medal at the 2013 world championshipsGreat Britain's women's 4 x 100m relay team have been rewarded for their bronze medal at the 2013 world championships in Moscow

British Athletics, which distributes the funding through Government agency UK Sport, has allocated the highest level of "podium funding" only to athletes who are considered realistic medal contenders for the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. 

This marks a contrast with previous years when the emphasis had been on the likelihood of making a final.

Only 22 athletes have consequently been selected for podium funding, with 16 on relay support and 44 younger athletes on the lower-level podium potential funding with an eye to success at the 2020 Games in Tokyo.

Among those receiving podium funding are the reigning world champions Mo Farah and Christine Ohuruogu, the London 2012 Olympic gold medalists Jessica Ennis-Hill and Greg Rutherford, and the 2011 world champion Dai Greene.

Those receiving podium potential funding include teenage middle distance runners Jessica Judd and Emilia Gorecka, as well as sprinter Jodie Williams who won the European-Under 23 200m title in 2013.

"Our immediate focus is firmly on medals in 2016, followed by London 2017 when we will host the IAAF World Athletics Championships," said British Athletics performance director Neil Black.

"From there attention shifts to Tokyo 2020.

"Our selections absolutely reflect that focus.

"Twenty thirteen was an excellent year for the British team across both the Olympic and Paralympic programmes.

"I'm confident 2014 will bring further success in what will be another extremely busy indoor and outdoor season."