By Emily Goddard

jose-amaury-russo1May 2 - Brazilian José Amaury Russo has been named as the new President of the International Federation for Sport for Athletes with an Intellectual Disability (Inas), becoming the first to be elected from outside Europe in the organisation's 26-year history.

The 59-year-old (pictured top) replaces Britain's Bob Price - who stepped down earlier this week after completing the maximum two three-year terms in office, during which he oversaw the successful re-inclusion of athletes with an intellectual disability into the Paralympic Games - after winning a close election contest alongside British nominee Geoff Smedley.

Russo has more than 30 years experience in disability sport, including holding positions with the Brazilian Paralympic Committee and the Brazilian member organisation of Inas, ABDEM, and will lead Inas as it builds towards the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

"You have led Inas through some difficult times and achieved so much," Russo said as he led the tributes to Price.

"I will work hard to build on that success and behalf of all Inas athletes, I wish you well in your retirement."

Further tributes were paid to Sweden's Bengt Lindstedt and Michel Chopinaud of France, who also stepped down at the election.

Robyn-SmithRobyn Smith was named as Inas vice-president

Joining Russo at the top of Inas is Australian Robyn Smith, who becomes vice-president, Britain's Karon Nicol, who was named treasurer and American Barry Holman, who is now secretary general.

"I am absolutely delighted to have joined the management team on the Inas Governing Board, but also a little sad that Dr Bob Price has retired as President," Smith said.

"Bob has been a wonderful role model as President and has established such a strong platform to take Inas forward into the future."

Britain's Jan Burns and France's Marc Truffaut were re-elected to the posts of head of eligibility and technical officer respectively.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
April 2013: Price steps down as President of Inas