By David Gold

Gen Armbuster_May_18May 18 - The Malmö Lady Intercup – the third biggest competition on the women's goalball circuit after the Paralympic Games and the World Championships – began today in the Swedish city.

The 13th edition of the tournament will include 14 of the world's top goalball sides, with the exception of the number one ranked team and current world champions China.

In Pool A, reigning tournament champions, Russia, defend their title against hosts Sweden, as well as Britain, Greece, Germany, Canada and Israel.

The United States, who won gold at the Paralympics in Beijing in 2008 (pictured below) and are ranked just behind China, take on Spain, Japan, the Netherlands, Australia, Finland and Denmark in Pool B.

US goalball_team_2008_Para_May_18
Canada will be hopeful of taking gold, having previously won the event twice.

European champions Denmark are another team to watch.

After the group stage, the teams will compete in a round-robin format for the title.

The competition concludes on Sunday (May 20).

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]