By Tom Degun

para dressage_2_FebFebruary 2 - Para-dressage riders from 23 nations have qualified to take part in London 2012 following the official qualification process.

As the top three ranked teams at the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2010, Great Britain, Germany and Denmark will each be represented by a team of four plus one individual rider.

Canada, the top ranked nation on the Para-equestrian team ranking list for countries not otherwise qualified, will also receive five qualification slots at the Paralympic Games.

USA, Netherlands, Brazil, Ireland, Italy, Belgium, South Africa, Mexico, Singapore, Australia and France will enter teams of four riders after they qualified through both the Para-equestrian team ranking list and regional distribution of teams.

New Zealand, Norway and Finland will be represented by two individual riders apiece, while Bermuda, Argentina, Japan, Hong Kong and Austria have each been allocated one individual slot.

The three remaining qualification slots will be allocated by bipartite commission invitation issued by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Equestrian Federation (FEI).

The final qualifications will be announced on April 9 this year.

The nominated entries will be published on June 18 and definite entries will be confirmed on August 6.

A total of 78 Para-equestrian riders will be battling it out for the 11 sets of medals available in Greenwich Park over six days from August 30 to September 4.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]